A Men's wear & lifestyle appreciation blog

My New gig

  Right now, I am now in the process of studying my fit and label manual. After a couple of months of being part volunteer, part intern, and nearly a decade of being in the corporate matrix, I’ve come full circle to doing what I love, being a custom clothier.  I’m usually a very low-key guy when comes to showing emotion, but this is pretty exciting.
      I’m working with Christopher Schafer Clothiers here in Baltimore, MD, and so far I can say I love it here. Here are the cast of characters: Chris Schafer (the guy in the grey suit w/ his arm on my shoulder) pretty much lets us be us, which is what I love. He’s a great guy to work with. If I had to describe his philosophy, it would be old school work ethic applied through unconventional methods and thinking.  Chris J Rondo, my cohort (the blonde dude pictured in the sunglasses), is a young cat who does his own thing, and has his own unique style.
I discovered Chris through a blog a friend of mine pointed out to me referring to a monthly fashion/networking cocktail event started by Caprece Garrett-Jackson called “Wear It Out Wednesdays” . I saw a few photos of Chris’s display and wanted to know more about this tailor I’d never heard of before. Hell I’d been a part of The Custom Shop during my early days in Baltimore , who was this cat ? The more information I read, the more I felt like I’d been living under a rock for the last 3 years. Chris is a musician who started founded Hour House studios, he got his start in custom & clothing while living abroad in London, trained by the best in Saville Row and Jermyn Street. After coming back to the states he did a short stint with Tom James and decided to “take the plunge” in 2008 starting his own label . Winning The Baltimore City Paper’s Best of Baltimore  “Baltimore’s Best Tailor” two times in 2010, 2011 , (and again this year in September). I read more about his work with Living Classrooms , and the non-profit which he chairs The Baltimore Fashion Alliance. So after reading all that , I decided to take a chance and email Chris and ask him about an internship. Surprisingly he responded back that same evening, we set up an interview which turned into me basically hanging out there  the entire day. Before I knew it I was sitting in on planning meetings for Fashion Block and then assisting in styling models for Baltimore’s Fashion’s Night Out . To think almost a year ago ,  stuck in a job with a few unhappy people in various departments and wondering if this was all life has to offer?  Me taking shit from a bunch of un-happy people, caught up in whatever their emotional or social hang-ups were at the time. Not quite being understood , and being ridiculed behind my back for thinking differently. Or “living a fashion magazine fantasy lifestyle”. I wanted a way out. I didn’t want to get stuck .. I liked my job and the responsibility it gave me , but I knew it wasn’t my calling. Apparently so did The Most High …because late one December morning I after being into the office by my director and told I was being let go in February ,a year after being promoted to a new position. Funny how life works out sometimes.
       About eight months ago after being handed a pink slip by my former employer, I had no idea on earth what I’d be doing or how, for that matter. I just knew I wanted to do something in menswear and fashion. So I started A Life Suited as not just a way of occupying my time, but also as a bridge into the one of things I love to talk most about. For me, this is much more than just a frivolous conversation on clothing, it’s a lifestyle. So it’s nice to finally find my niche and not be writing from the viewpoint of an observer on the sidelines, but to actually be in the mix of it all. Alright, back to studying…
D.C. King A.L.S.
3 responses

  1. Greg C.

    This is what it’s all about , my friend! Go out an meet your destiny!!!!!!!!!!

    September 28, 2012 at 1:57 am

  2. Abi

    wow!!!!!!!!! I am truly inspired!!!!! this is an inspirational story……. I wish you all the very best in this chapter of your life. I pray that you keep on having the resilience and that you keep meeting people that will guide you to your life calling. I am motivated to continue with the novel I have been writing for years now…. same way you inspired me to start my blog……. please let me know how I can support you in achieving your dreams!!!!

    October 4, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    • Just put the word out, If you know anybody looking for tailored made goods, send them to me

      October 4, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

